All I Ask For Anymore

Happy Music Monday,

It is almost time to stuff our bellies full of yummy foods and hit the gym extra hard this week as Thanksgiving gets closer.  Happy Thanksgiving everyone, my blessings go out to you and yours. Have a safe and happy holiday and rejoice in the time you spend with your loved ones whether they be family or friends.  I was a bit stumped as to which song was relating to me most this week, but once I heard it I knew this song was perfect especially with the holiday.  My song of the week is “All I Ask For Anymore, ” written by Michael Casey Beathard and Timothy A James, performed by Trace Adkins.  The lyrics are what fit so well into the holiday season because this is time of the year where we realize how thankful we should be and ask the Lord to watch over our loved ones and keep them safe.

“It was a passing grade, a pretty girl.  All the money in the world.  What mattered then kept changing every day.”  When I was younger I remember praying to the Lord to let Dad bring that puppy home, let Mom allow me to use the car over the weekend, or keep the brothers out of my hair.  Each day what I prayed for changed because wisdom is learned over the years and we eventually realize there are more important things to pray for at night.  With each age, I sincerely believe we comprehend, all the money in the world, a passing grade, etc wouldn’t matter if our loved ones weren’t safe each and every night.

“And when I bow my head tonight, There’ll be no me, myself, and I.  Just watch my wife and kids please Lord, That’s all I ask for anymore.”  Now, personally I have no husband or kids at this point in my life, but this line can be changed from, “Just watch my wife and kids to watch my loved ones please Lord.”  That is the great ting about Country music is the realness.  Listeners can hear their own values portrayed within the lyrics.  I have heard many times at concerts, listening parties, etc at least one person say, “Wow, that is my life in a song.”

The last line of the song is truly what touches my heart because of the pure simplicity and relatable quality.  “That’s all that matters anymore.”  As human beings with hearts and emotions we realize how important it is to be thankful for who we have in our lives, family and friends alike.  Not only family and friends, but think about the teachers who have impacted your life, the neighbor down the street, or that stranger who you met just once.  My view on relationships and encounters with different people is each person we meet has a lesson to teach us and it is up to us to decide to listen or ignore why they have crossed our paths.

As always bloggers, until next time, keep those ears entertained.

Musically,

Chelsea ♫

 

 

PS  I am starting to include an extra special treat, I will now link the video to the title of the song.  Just click on the underlined title and it should direct you right to the video so you can enjoy the song 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lori k
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 18:14:44

    thanks for the link to the video…great song…tears in my eyes

    Reply

  2. Bobby
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 15:23:30

    Chels, said perfectly, conveyed perfectly, felt perfectly. You did it again and hit the nail on the head. I could use a lot of cliches here, but I don’t have to. You summed it up just right.

    Life doesn’t mean a whole lot if you don’t have at least one truly good person to share it with. When you have numerous family and friends, it’s all the better. It’s the reason I love this song by Trace because it really is my life in a song. I think it’s a lot of people’s lives in a song and the fact that Michael Casey Beathard and Timothy A. James were able to find the right words to emphasize what I believe we all feel in a three minute ballad is breathtaking. Some of us search our whole lives to grasp the right words to say a simple thank you or prayer to the Lord in thanks for giving us all that He does, but a song like this one makes it a lot easier.

    I certainly appreciate every person in my life (even the crazy ones lol!) because each of them makes my life the way it is and what it is- which is pretty darn special. I am especially grateful for my family because without them, all of the little things that make me who I am simply would not be there. There honestly is not a moment that goes by where I don’t feel downright blessed to have the parents and brother I do. They make me who I am, and I like that person. I’m not saying I love myself, but I love who I am because of their influence.

    And I can honestly say that they are all I’ve ever asked for. Thanks for another great blog, Chels. Us music fans will be asking you for a lot more, I guarantee it. Take Care, sincerely, Bobby

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers

