I Was Here

Music Monday,

The weather has been getting chillier each day here in Nashville, but I am not minding it too much. Perfect time to relax and look at the beauty all around me.  There is just something about the cold weather that makes me look back to my childhood and remember all those special moments growing up.  Makes me remember the people in my life who have influenced my path and think of the people who I have yet to meet, that will leave their mark.

I came across this song at just the right moment in my life because it explains my truest passion for all that I want to achieve.  My song of the week is “I Was Here,” recorded by Lady Antebellum and written by Victoria Shaw, Hillary Scott, and Gary Burr.  If you are a fan of Lady A and have yet to hear this track I highly recommend going on YouTube to listen.  The first line of the song is what drew me, “I’ll be leaving my mark, like initials carved in an old oak tree.”  The initials carved stay on the tree forever, not everyone sees them, but they are the mark of somebody.  I have set out on my path to work in the music industry and I am determined to leave my mark.  I am not exactly sure what my mark will be, but I know it will be in music.

The chorus of the song is the hook towards motivation and driving force towards going after your dreams to make a difference. “I wanna do something that matters, say something different. Something that sets the whole world on its ear.  I wanna do something better with the time I’ve been given.  I wanna try to touch a few hearts in this life. Leave nothing less than something that says, I was here.”  My view on life is we have one life to live and make a difference in this world and I don’t want to be ordinary.  I have a deep passion to write lyrics that will one day connect with someone.   Music is and always will be my first true love.  On the worst of days, I know I can come home and put on my music to just zone out and it is the one thing that has always been there to motivate, inspire, and keep me going.  Even if leaving my mark is writing one song that touches one person, that is good enough for me.  I just don’t want to take this life for granted and I want to do something I can be proud of and know I lived.

‘Cause I know it’s my destiny.  To leave more than a trace of myself in this place!’ This line is very personal to me because I sincerely feel I was given this life to leave a mark in the world.  There have been many moments in my life, where I have had the feeling  of being on the path God has created for me.  It is a strong connection in my heart and it’s with a deep smile from ear to ear, & with a light in my eyes when I speak about my passion. Lets me know I am doing what I was put here to do.

As I mentioned above, the mark doesn’t have to be anything huge, but don’t just pass through this life if you feel you were put here for a reason.  Don’t be afraid to chase those dreams, because you never know where they can lead.

As always bloggers, until next time, keep those ears entertained.

Musically,

Chelsea ♫

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Not So Evil Twin :)
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 00:55:48

    Definitely just looked up this song and I’m putting the chorus lyrics as my fbook status 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tori Ellis
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 00:45:07

    You’re lucky that your first true love is music rather than chocolate, like mine. Somehow I don’t think it’s too grand an idea to come home and zone out to chocolate every day…Actually, I think that’s a fantastic idea:-)

    On a more serious note, I love the message of chasing your dreams without forgetting your roots and all of the people and things who have made your progress possible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers

