Don’t Forget To Remember Me

Happy Music Monday,

I have embarked on a new chapter in my life as of this weekend and this new beginning has brought about my latest installment on the blog.  Every week I am going to pick a song of the week.  I am going to base my decision on three things:  1.) The lyrics of the song, 2.) How it is currently relating to my life, 3.) The universal message, which I feel is portrayed in the lyrics.

My pick for this week, Carrie Underwood’s, “Don’t Forget To Remember Me,” written by Morgan Hayes, Kelley Lovelace, and Ashley Gorley featured on her debut album Some Hearts. The lyrics of “Don’t Forget To Remember Me,” are resonating very strongly during this time because of where I am at in my life.  I have recently embarked on the chapter of my life and the song just describes everything perfectly.  Just as Carrie Underwood and her Mom have a best friend relationship, my Mom and I share the same relationship.

“Before you hit the highway, you better stop for gas.  And there’s a 50 in the ashtray, in case you run short on cash,” these few words right from the beginning of the song reminded me of my Mom because it is exactly what she does to watch out for her baby girl.  I sometimes have managed to sneak the money back in Mama’s purse because I am just like her in terms of caring for my family above all else.

As I listen the song while writing there is another line, which touches my heart deeply, “And make sure you tell Daddy that I’m still his little girl.  Yeah I still feel like I’m where I’m supposed to be.”  Daddy and I have a relationship where I know he is proud even when he doesn’t say anything.  Sometimes he may question where I am because I am going against all odds, but I know there is a reason for me being where I am today.

There is a deep message connecting fans of the song through the story of a young individual just starting out in life.  It is from Underwood’s perspective as a young female, but I thing men can relate as well.  We all begin somewhere in our lives.  We all say bye to our respective parents to begin our own lives.  Mama looks out for her babies and Daddy keeps tough, as he wants you to know he is proud, but will question the decisions made.

Keep those ears entertained bloggers.

Musically,

Chelsea  ♫

 

*The lyrics to “Don’t Forget To Remember Me,” were accessed from Carrie Underwoods album Some Hearts

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Not So Evil Twin :)
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 20:06:06

    Oh Chels, I’ll never forget to remember you if you never forget to make sure I have a constant supply of backstage passes! Just kidding! Your mom and dad must be so proud of you, twin; I know I am!

    Reply

  2. Rich
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 03:42:01

    Those words are definitely true. My parents felt the same way when I left home to move out here. And I’m sure I will feel the same way with my kids whenthey are ready to leave the nest. Hope you are doing well.

    Reply

  3. Robyn
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 16:28:31

    Powerful words…made me tear up at work. You have such a strong and wonderful family. You cherish them all so much. You are lucky to have each other. I am lucky to have you as my sister. I love you with all my heart. Always know you have me if you ever need anything…and I mean ANYTHING.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers

