2010 Fallfest Concert Review

Happy Music Monday,

It is the first Monday of October, which means it’s the first Music Monday of the month.  I have been cranking up the tunes ever since I woke up this morning.  My playlist of the day has artists such as Jerrod Niemann, Waylon Jennings, Conway Twitty, Jake Owen, Jimmy Wayne, Patty Loveless, and Patsy Cline among others.

My ears were entertained yesterday at The Big I 105’s Fallfest event held in Lancaster, PA.  Fallfest is a traditional event that takes place on the first Sunday of October.  For all those who have yet to attend Fallfest let me provide you with a little insight.  One of the main reasons you want to mark your calendar for next year’s Fallfest is the simple fact  this event is FREE.   Each year there are about five artists and one is the Feature Artist of Fallfest.  The Feature  Artist is usually one who has many new happenings in the coming year.

This year’s Fallfest was a record breaker with crowd attendance, on Sunday, October 3, of more than 60,000 concertgoers.  Fallfest 2010’s line up included Josh Gracin, The Band Perry, Jerrod Niemann, Jake Owen, and Gretchen Wilson.

Josh Gracin was the first artist of the day as he took the stage and played many of his classic hits, but also graced the crowd with new music.  My favorite from Gracin was his song “I Want To Live.”  The lyrics within the song are what make me feel most connected.  The Band Perry was up next as they took the stage shortly after and got the crowd moving with their get up and dance hit, “Hip To My Heart.”  The Band Perry had a rocking set because as I looked around the crowd you could see so many youngsters with their Mom & Dad just dancing away.  Many held one another close as The Band Perry closed with their heart touching song, “If I Die Young.”  Jerrod Niemann followed The Band Perry and got the crowd laughing as he played Robert Earl King’s “Bucking Song.”  Each time he sang the songs main line many concertgoers couldn’t help but laugh.  This is Niemann’s third stop in PA in little less than a month as he has done many shows in different parts of PA.  Niemann also sang his newest release from his debut album, “What Do You Want.”  This soulful hit had the crowd cheering along as he introduced the song.  “Your ex only calls you for three reasons, 1. You haven’t called them so you haven’t fulfilled their quota of begging for them back, 2. They want to rub it in your face that you are having a better life, 3. They are lonely and want some loving,” not Niemann’s exact words, but close enough.  Owen kept the crowd singing along as he hit the stage and started off with his famous hit “Yee-Haw.”  The best part of Owen’s set was when he sang “Happy Birthday,” to Lindsey who turned 27.

Up after Owen was the Feature Artist of the night, Redneck woman Gretchen Wilson.  Wilson got the crowd singing along from the start as she opened her set with “Here For the Party.”  I never had the chance to see Wilson in concert before, but I am glad she was at Fallfest this year.  Wilson’s concerts are filled with energy, fun, and true connections with the fans as she performs.   As the crowd was freezing in the field Wilson was on stage heating things up in her tall black boots and black tank top..  With the energy she had on stage a long sleeve shirt wasn’t necessary to stay warm.  Wilson did a great cover of Foreigner’s song “Hot Blooded.”  But no one would be happy if Wilson didn’t play the song we all know her for as the band began the first riff all the women in the audience cheered as she started belting out “Redneck Woman.”

Keep those ears entertained bloggers.

Musically,

Chelsea  ♫

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherise
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 14:27:57

    I was so bummed I had to miss that concert!! It sounded awesome! I must say that I just heard Carrie Underwood’s “Mama’s Song” the other day and proceeded to buy the entire cd off iTunes after previewing it, amazingggg

    Reply

  2. Dan Ascanio
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 17:43:36

    Nice blog Chelsea, keep up the good work!

    Dan

    Reply

  3. Bobby
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 18:40:08

    What a stellar line up! I must admit, for a mega country fan like myself, I’m embarrassed to say I didn’t even know about Fallfest in Lancaster, but I sure hope to check it out next year now that that’s changed. I also think it’s a real credit to Pennsylvania that our state has become such a hotbed for country music, continually bringing in artist after artist. Also it really says quite a lot for new artists to be so willing to come here. I think this comes from the fact that they know the Keystone state is truly a can’t-miss stop for honing their craft and getting their name out there. And I think it’s pretty clear that PA is quite welcoming to these newer artists as well as the established ones, so either way you cut it, Pennsylvania residents will win in the end with a formula like that. Makes you kinda happy to be a Pennsylvania boy…or girl! Thanks Chelsea for bringing out this important point in your writing. As always, what a joy to read.

    Reply

  4. Tori
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 16:54:36

    It sounds like it was quite the musical adventure, and I’m terribly sad to have missed it this year! Ah well, I’ll just have to make the event my excuse for visiting PA next year. Until then, I shall keep reading this lovely blog and wishing I were there to experience all of this. Now that I’ve purchased every Rise Against, Alkaline Trio, Anti-Flag, Billy Talent, and Tim McIlrath song that iTunes has to offer, my musical life is fairly bland. I’m in desperate need of some new bands to listen to and will surely check out some of the artists mentioned here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers

